Pregnancy: Week 29

Saturday, May 6, 2017
We woke up early and drove to visit Zak and Danielle.  We knew that this was going to be our last big trip before the baby came.  We may attempt a trip or two that’s around 2 hours, but there’s no way I’m going to be able to handle another 5+ hour trip until after the baby comes.  They have a two and a half year old.  It was like looking into the future to see what we could expect.  They’re in the process of potty training him.  They also catered to what he would eat more than I would like to.  Actually, they spent a lot of time arguing over what was or was not okay for their kid.  They really didn’t seem to happy together and it looked like they had differing opinions about child-rearing.  I am grateful that even though Kyle and I have not been together for very long before this happened that we really do seem to be on the same page.  We’re both happy to be starting a family together and both very happy about my pregnancy.  I really can’t complain.  In fact, I really can’t see how I could have done any better!  I hope things continue to be as good for us as they have been!

We decided to go out to see a movie and invited Zak and Danielle.  Neither wanted to leave the other with the baby, which was understandable.  They both told us to enjoy the movie while we could, implying that it would be a long time before we could enjoy one after the baby arrives.  Maybe they’re right.  It just seemed like an odd thing to say.

Sunday, May 7, 2017
I spent the majority of the day driving.  It was nice to see Zak and Danielle, but I was ready to leave.  By the time we got home, we really didn’t have much energy to do anything.  I did manage to put together our rocking chair and sat in it for a little while before I went to bed.

Monday, May 8, 2017
I’m not sure what it is, but I really have been wanting to find out the sex of the baby.  Maybe it’s just that I’ve been feeling constant movement, but I still don’t really feel connected to it.  I feel like using the correct pronoun and a name would help.  We picked out names for both sexes, but I don’t want to use one only to find out that it’s the other.  For a number of weeks at the beginning I was using male pronouns, but was unsure if it was because that’s the sex of the baby or if it was just the typical go-to pronoun that our society uses when the sex of something is uncertain.  I would like a girl, but that’s just because that’s what I understand.  Both boys and girls (assuming that they’re gender-typical) come with their own types of challenges.  Either way, it’ll be a baby and I’ll be happy no matter what it is!

Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Today the clothes I work made it obvious to the parents that I was pregnant.  I had arrival duty.  It mostly consisted of watching the kids get off the busses and making sure that none of the parents came into the school with their child.  When the parents saw me, many of them looked at my belly and asked when my last day of school would be.  I told them that I would be there until the end.  They asked me, several, at different times if I was going to last that long.  I’m not due until the end of July, so this question took me aback.  After the first few, I just started telling people I guessed I was carrying really heavy and left it at that.   I even had a little girl ask me, “Are there two babies in there?”

It made me a little self-conscious, but after thinking about it, I supposed that being visibly pregnant wasn’t a bad thing.  Work went fine today with nothing out of the ordinary occurring.

Kyle and I went to the grocery store after work.  We were in an aisle and one lady told me how beautiful I looked.  Assuming she was talking to someone else, I looked around and realized we were the only ones in the aisle.  So I thanked her belatedly for her compliment.  She asked when I was due.  I told her.  She asked if I had twins.  I said no.  That’s when she said she didn’t believe me.  I started to get annoyed because apparently my pregnancy allows strangers to comment on my body.  No doubt if I was carrying lightly, I’d be getting comments too.  Well, for the most part, I like being pregnant, but I’m really starting to wish I knew what sex we’re going to be having.  I feel that using gender neutral terms like “it”, “baby”, and “the kid” are starting to get old and are preventing me from really forming a connection.  Plus it would help if I could actually call “the thing” by his or her real name!  Hopefully I’ll find out soon!

Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Today was supposed to be an easy day, but it didn’t feel that way.  I woke up so late that I knew I would arrive late to work.  I sent an e-mail and blamed the traffic.  I had to be at school about a half hour before my first class started anyway.

I guess the clothes I wore today made me look more pregnant than usual.  I had thought that the kids in my dance production would have spread the word around the school that I was pregnant, but not every class already knew.  I found myself explaining it a lot in classes today, which was fine.

Kyle wanted me to drive him to a hike after I got out of work, but he just couldn’t find the things he needed for it in time.  In truth, I was relieved.  I was too tired to put forth the added energy that I knew I’d need if I were going to be sociable with people.  Also, people tend to go out afterwards, so I knew that we wouldn’t get home in time for me to get a full 8 hours of sleep.  Instead, we just hung out, cuddled, and watched a movie together.  Sometimes those are the nicest nights!

Thursday, May 11, 2017
I awoke tired again today.  It seems like I’m never going to catch up on sleep!  It was nice to be able to go home after work today.  I had plans to clean out my car, but that didn’t happen.  My body must just be needing to rest because I went to sleep when I got home.  Either the baby is going through a growth spurt or I am.  My upper belly right under my breasts has been sore and I feel gravity pulling on my lower belly as well.  I’ve noticed that such things will bother me for a few days or a week at the most.  Then my body gets used to the change and I’m fine.  I just need to suck it up and deal with it for a few days and I’ll be fine!

Friday, May 12, 2017
I was extremely exhausted today.  I needed to buy some caffeinated soda just to be aware enough on the drive to work.  I dragged myself through the day, happy when it was over.  I had plans to get a few things done when I got home, but I just didn’t have the mental or physical energy.  I fell asleep when I got home and woke up long enough to pick Kyle up from work.

When he got home, he was talking about cleaning up the apartment to invite my sisters over after the shower.  I asked if that meant the shower was this weekend.  He seemed annoyed to have given it away.  I told him that I had suspected it for a long time since he was talking about doing something nice for my mom for Mother’s Day without wanting help or input from me.  He felt a bit better and was happy to not have to hide it from me anymore.  I’m very much looking forward to tomorrow so we can finally find out the sex of the baby!  It has been driving me crazy all week, so I guess it’s now time to know!

Leave a Reply

