Pregnancy: Week 25

Saturday, April 8, 2017
I must have really needed some time off because I couldn’t motivate myself to do anything today.  I spent almost the entire day lying on the couch.  I felt bad because I had things I wanted to accomplish, but I couldn’t even force myself to do the simplest of tasks.

When it was time to go to bed, Kyle put his hand on my lower belly to feel the baby moving.   Not only did he feel it move, but we realized that the baby would move more to the sound of his voice!  It was really sweet and a really nice father moment for him.  I know fathers have a difficult time connecting to the baby before it’s born, so it was really nice to see.  To be honest, I’m having a difficult time connecting with the baby before it’s born and I can even feel it moving around inside of me!

Sunday, April 9, 2017
Because I spent yesterday doing next to nothing, I spent today trying to make up for it.  Unfortunately, I had managed to compile my to-do lists so that it would take close to a full day to complete the tasks on each.  As such, I completed Saturday’s tasks, but not today’s.

Monday, April 10, 2017
I felt like my weekend didn’t exist.  I did a lot of stuff, but I was just looking forward to the end of the week when my spring break started.  I wasn’t looking forward to the long trip Kyle and I were going to take to visit his mom, but it would have been nice to just have a break.  I like his mom well enough, but they don’t actually eat any meals other than dinner, so I end up spending more money than I’d like just to eat breakfast and lunch.

Work was tough because I spent most of the time trying not to fall asleep in my classes as the kids watched documentaries.

When we got home, Kyle and I were watching a movie trailer on his ipad when I felt the baby moving.  It had a classic rock song playing, so we decided to play a number of different songs to see how the baby would react.  It turned out that the baby liked my music better than his, but would always move around when the music had a good beat!  It was a lot of fun!  It also helped me to develop a connection with the baby other than getting annoyed with it for kicking me in the bladder!

Tuesday, April 11, 2017
I got a lot done today in preparation for my upcoming spring break.  The idea was to complete as much of my to-do list as possible so I didn’t have anything to worry about while I was on break.  I just had students watch documentaries while I worked on my computer.  I feel like I’ve been a bad art teacher lately considering that is all I have been having my classes to lately.  There are even some simple things I could have them do that doesn’t require much energy on my part, so they’re still making art, but I really haven’t been feeling up to it.

I was tired when I got home, but I still managed to push myself to make sure laundry got done.  When I was finished, however, I just went right to bed, exhausted.

Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Today was a rough day.  Several of the co-workers I’m closest to (I wouldn’t quite call them friends) were having a rough time.  One of them had to leave early for a wedding she was in, but our boss was giving her a hard time about it.  Another one had her husband coming home from a nursing home, so she needs to take care of him again and he pretty much gives her a hard time about everything.  Another one has been dealing with a sick mother and a broken finger.  Needless to say, most people I encountered were in a bad mood.

The students didn’t help matters.  They were antsy and didn’t want to listen.  When I got home, I was too exhausted to pack for our upcoming trip.  Instead, I just laid on the couch until bedtime.  Kyle was remarkably good about not nagging me to do the stuff I just didn’t have the energy to do.

Thursday, April 13, 2017
I was very much looking forward to getting work done with.  I only had three classes due to the half day.  I was very happy when they were over!  I had to stay late at work to finish up a few items on my to-do list that I didn’t want to carry over into my spring break and drove home.

When I got there, I was exhausted.  Kyle encouraged me to take a nap.  The nape didn’t help.  I was even more tired when I woke up.  After an hour, I dragged myself up and packed everything that I needed.  We left a little later than I would have liked and didn’t get to my middle sister’s house until close to 11.  When we got there, I was ready for sleep, so she just got us some blankets and let us get to sleep.

Friday, April 14, 2017
Kyle and I had slept very poorly the night before.  While my sister’s couch was comfortable enough, it was difficult to roll over to switch positions whenever one side hurt.  I woke up at one point to see Kyle lying on the floor next to me.  He later explained that while the recliner was comfortable, he was too far away from me, which I thought was rather sweet.

We spent the morning playing mini-golf with my sister. Thankfully, she won both rounds.  She’s such a sore loser, that it almost makes it worth it to let her win.  I never do, because I’m so competitive, but still, she would have been a pain in the ass if she hadn’t.  We went for massages next because both me and Kyle were really sore.  Kyle had never had a professional massage before.  He greatly enjoyed it.  We went back to my sister’s house, played with her dog, played a board game, and ate lunch.  Then she had to go to work and we had to drive to Kyle’s mother’s house.

Our trip was boring and uneventful, but I was still very worn out by the time we got there.  I hugged his mom and did my best to make small talk with her and Kyle’s step-dad.  I went to bed early and Kyle stayed up drinking with them.  I know he had been wanting to drink for awhile, but had nobody to drink with since I couldn’t drink.  I always had a bad feeling about him drinking.  A lot of his family are alcoholics, so maybe that’s all it is.  Nothing bad had happened other than him coming in and waking me up at about 3am and talking for hours about what he had discussed with his mom and step-dad.

Leave a Reply

