Pregnancy: Week 23

Friday, March 31, 2017
Today was a tough day at work. I’m not sure what was going on with the students, but they were really difficult to control today. And that was true with all of my classes. I was really just looking forward to going home and enjoying a weekend off.

I took a bit of a nap earlier in the evening and could not get to sleep. I decided to stay up and do some straightening up of our apartment. I guess the nesting instinct is intact. Either that, or I just got fed up with how everything looks!

I have tried to eat a number of mini meals throughout the day and that seemed to help the acid in my throat a bit. I hope this doesn’t last throughout the whole rest of my pregnancy!

Thursday, March 30, 2017
I can’t believe how much energy I have had all week! I have gotten a ton of things done and I have felt really great! I am very pleased with the way things have been going and hope that it continues. I know that as the third trimester approaches, I will start feeling tired again, but I hope I just get caught up with everything I want done before then! The acid in my esophagus was still a problem today. I actively tried to eat and drink things that wouldn’t bother it, but it really didn’t help.

Wednesday, March 29, 2017
I can’t believe that with the small amount of sleep I got last night, I was still strangely awake and energized throughout the day. I even managed to cook dinner when I got home! Everything I ate bothered the acid, but I had to eat!

Tuesday, March 28, 2017
We had state testing today and I was asked to help proctor. It gave me a chance to get a lot of things done! The acid in my stomach was traveling up my esophagus all day and Tums were of no help.

Monday, March 27, 2017
It felt good to be able to go home after work and not stay after like I had last week. It did manage to help me prove to myself that I’m sometimes capable of more than I think!

Sunday, March 26, 2017
I was looking forward to sleeping in. I awoke a little after 7am, but I felt well-rested. By the time Kyle woke up around 11, I had done my taxes, applied to jobs, and paid my bills. That was good, because I didn’t feel like doing anything after that!

Saturday, March 25, 2017
I went to a hiking thingy again today. Kyle was looking forward to getting out in the woods, especially since I haven’t been capable of hiking recently. Unfortunately, when he got there, there was a problem with the sole of his hiking boot and he had to stay behind with me. There were a number of women who didn’t like hiking. They had set up sunshades and had a makeshift barbecue while the hikers (mostly men) were gone. Kyle was starting to get angrier and angrier about his boot because he really had wanted to hike and kept to himself.

I said hello to the numerous people I knew there. I considered them downgraded to “hugging acquaintances”. Basically, they’re people I say hi to, give a big hug, then walk away and never talk again. I find that now I’m pregnant, most conversations are about my condition and about the baby. I joked that I’m nothing but an incubator to people, but it didn’t bother me. I’m socially awkward at times, so it was helpful to always have something to talk about!

It turned out that there were a few people who really did think of themselves as my friends and hung out with me for over a half hour! I was surprised, but pleased! Two of them asked about touching the belly. I didn’t get it, but I let them. It’s not like the baby was anywhere near where they were touching anyway. My uterus just isn’t that big yet. I don’t understand why people want to touch a pregnant belly, but I didn’t mind so long as they asked first. I’ve heard horror stories about friends who have had strangers come up to them and just put their hand on their pregnant belly. Wtf!? Probably the best way I’ve heard of dealing with such a thing is to just put your hand on theirs. It allows them to realize that it’s invading your personal space. However, if some stranger did that to me, I wouldn’t put it past my reflexes to just grab their wrist and twist it away before they even touched me. I don’t understand why strangers think it’s okay to just touch you, for any reason.

Also, apparently my ex-husband now knows that I’m pregnant.  He congratulated Kyle (I still refuse to speak to him), but looked shocked when Kyle thanked him for his congratulations.  I said goodbye to friends and my ex was right there.  He tried talked to me and I completely ignored what he said.  I know it makes me look like the petty one to not acknowledge or speak to him, but it’s better than the alternative.  He can say all sorts of seemingly innocuous things to me that will hurt me thanks to our years together and the shit he managed to program in me.  I don’t know what else to do other than to look like the petty one.

Leave a Reply

