Pregnancy: Week 22

Monday, March 20, 2017
Today got to a rough start. I almost hit a car that pulled around me only to stop short in front of me on my way to work. Then I had a coworker literally yell at me for something that was extremely inconsequential. I even let her know that I didn’t mean anything by it and that I had nothing against her.   Needless to say, she took it the wrong way and even yelled at me about it in front of our principal. I know she has tenure, but she was really behaving oddly. I feel like she’s starting to go off the deep end. I know she lost both her father and brother within a month of each other, but that was two months ago. While, it’s tough to get over something like that, even in two months, one would think she could at least learn to behave correctly at work.

It really threw the rest of my day off. By the end of it, I was very emotional and had to try very hard not to act like a jerk to Kyle and jump all over him for everything. I truly hope I managed it because he doesn’t deserve to be treated that way.

Tuesday, March 21, 2017
I had difficulty sleeping last night. I kept wondering if there was any way I could have handled that issue with my coworker any better.

I wore a shirt today that is often considered a “maternity style” of clothing. Apparently it was enough to make me look pregnant. I had one coworker who told me that I really “popped” this week. That was fine because I was wondering at what point I would stop looking fat and start looking pregnant. Later on, I was doing lunch duty when a parent asked me, in the most tactful way possible, if I was pregnant. She looked at my belly and asked if she was the last to know something. I told her that I really didn’t broadcast it, but that I was due in July. Then she asked me if I was having twins.

I don’t understand that pregnancy seems to be the only time that people think it’s okay to comment on the size of your belly. It was the third time I was asked if I was having twins. I didn’t take it personally at first because twins actually do run in my family. However, with repetition and the notion that some of these people would have had no idea that twins run in my family and were simply commenting that I was “too big too soon”. I have also been told of people who were “not showing enough”. Apparently, I’m the first sort. But I still don’t see why people think it authorizes them to discuss how much weight you gained. If I wasn’t pregnant, nobody would have thought to tell me how much weight it looked like I put on.

Wednesday, March 22, 2017
I didn’t have to stay late at work today, so today felt like a quick, easy day. It’s amazing that a few weeks ago I felt like a full day of work was tough. Now it seems easier when I don’t have to stay late. After work, I really had to push myself to do laundry. The only thing that made me force myself was the notion that I was going to run out of clothes before the end of the week and I wouldn’t have the time or opportunity to do laundry again until after that time. I managed it, but then went right to sleep when I got home.

Thursday, March 23, 2017
I was not looking forward to today. In addition to helping out with an after school club, I also had my dance rehearsal. Needless to say, I didn’t expect to get home until at least 7:30 and I worked from 8am until 6pm with only a lunch break. I was worried I wouldn’t be able to handle it.   I was pleased that I was wrong. I managed to get through the day rather remarkably. It did help that I had some unanticipated breaks in the day. I had a class that was on a field trip. Another class had an assembly. As small as these things seemed, they really gave me the break that I truly needed to get through it.

Friday, March 24, 2017
I was so excited that I was able to weather yesterday, that today was just a matter of wanting to get it over so I could move on to my weekend and take a break. I’m not sure what was going on today, but all of my classes struggled to behave. If it was one or two classes, I would have overlooked it, but all of the were just crazy. It wasn’t a full moon, which actually does tend to have an effect on student behavior. Some of the other teachers noticed it too and blamed the weather.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

