Pregnancy Week 10

Saturday December 24
Kyle went to work and I drove to visit some relatives. My dad’s side of the family all get together on Christmas Eve. I really wanted Kyle to meet them, but because he’s the one with the least seniority, he couldn’t get the day off. I saw all my family with the intention of telling them all that I was pregnant. However, after a cursory “Hello, how are you?” They visited with their own immediate families. My own immediate family didn’t attend.   My dad decided to stay in Florida. My sisters decided to drive to visit their spouses’ families this year. I really didn’t have the opportunity to tell anyone, so I didn’t.

I thought it was rather odd that I didn’t tell them. I was unsure if it was really because I wasn’t ready to tell them or if I just felt odd that I really didn’t have a long enough conversation with anybody to actually tell them.  I drove home and Kyle and I exchanged presents.  I was a little disappointed with the gift that he thought I’d like.  It was a quill for writing.  However, he neglected to give me any ink for it, so it was useless.  He knows that I write blogs and assumed that I enjoyed writing without a computer, which isn’t correct.  He obviously put some thought behind it, so I pretended to like it anyway.

Sunday December 25
We went to my mom’s house for Christmas.  They were very generous, especially for me.  I got a lot of very nice gifts.  They were also very generous to Kyle and gave him several presents as well.  It was a small gathering because both sisters were celebrating with their in-laws, but it was nice.  I was tired and feeling off anyway.  I did enjoy myself, but I think I did more than usual because it was a small, quiet gathering.

Monday December 26Friday December 30
I was feeling nauseous, tired, and dizzy for the majority of this week.  I had some bad brain fog too.  I had a to-do list for this week, but I didn’t even manage to do a single thing on the list.  My mind was working slowly.  I couldn’t work on knitting or read a book.  I haven’t finished either pregnancy book because I haven’t been able to concentrate or focus on it.  I read as far as the 8th month, so hopefully this brain fog goes away by then.

My middle sister called me to let me know that she’s planning my baby shower and asked what I wanted.  I hadn’t been to a baby shower since I was a little kid.  I had no idea what happened at them or what sorts of things were expected to happen.  I simply asked that we made it co-ed.  Both Kyle and I have a lot of male friends, so I thought it would be nice if they were made to feel welcome.  She also asked for names and addresses of everyone I wanted to come.  I told her that I would be announcing the pregnancy around week 13 and that I’d make sure to get the names, phone numbers, and addresses of everyone who I would want to invite.

On that same note, I sat down with my mom as a guide and completed my baby registry.  I just hoped that I managed to include everything that we’d actually need for the baby.  I didn’t include any toys, assuming that people would include toys regardless of whether or not we asked for them.

I went in for my NIPT on Wednesday and was told I’d receive a phone call in 10 days with the results.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with the test, it’s recommended with “high risk pregnancies” like mine.  They draw blood, separate the baby’s DNA from mine, and check it for chromosomal abnormalities.  It’s 99% accurate.  I don’t feel like anything in particular is wrong with the baby, but I’d like confirmation to know for sure!

Leave a Reply

