Friday November 11, 2016

I went to my first gynecologist visit ever today. My periods had shortened to two days in length since August. I was concerned about my fertility, so my doctor referred me to a gynecologist. It was an interesting visit. I liked my doctor immediately. She just seemed like the kind of person who likes what she does and that you can trust. When I asked her a question she didn’t know the answer to, she said she didn’t know but that she would find out. I hate it when doctors lie and make up an answer when they don’t know. She told me that my shortened periods weren’t as much of a problem because I was still getting them. She was more concerned about my weight and the fact that I used to smoke. She encouraged me to lose 10% of my weight and said that would increase my fertility. I told her I was working on it (I’m down 4lbs just from eating three meals a day and only the meals that I logged the night before). Still, that’s 22lbs and it seemed like a big number. I’m glad I broke my goals into smaller numbers because they somehow seem easier to achieve. She told me that she’d like to get some blood-work when I’m on the second day of my period to know for sure what levels I have and what’s concerning for my fertility. So now I will have to wait until I get my period and then go to the lab.

At the end of the visit, she asked me how long it has been since I used any method of birth control. I told her it was only since September and that we really hadn’t been trying, we just hadn’t been trying to prevent it. Without knowing my story or my situation, she recommended that I try for 6 months and then we would know if I had a fertility problem or not. I stared at her, a little bit in shock. She continued to say that I’m 37 years old and that if I want to have kids, so I should start now. I just worry about it being so soon in my relationship with Kyle. We’re still learning to live with each other. A pregnancy and baby are a lot to add into the mix in a new relationship. I don’t know. Maybe she’s right. Maybe I don’t have much time.

When I got home, I made sure to take my multivitamins so I have enough folic acid. I also called up my mom and sisters and explained my eating program and my emergency plan and asked if I could call them if I’m feeling like going off of my food plan. It was difficult to do, to admit to my mom and younger sisters that I had a problem with food. They didn’t argue, so maybe they already knew.

I also found someone online who is doing a similar program to me. We’re both starting around the same time and have both agreed to help keep each other accountable! I hope this weight loss thing works, but with the added reason of becoming more fertile and have less of a chance of birth defects, I definitely have more of a reason to lose weight than ever!

Leave a Reply

