Wednesday September 21, 2016

 

I awoke knowing that it was my birthday, but I felt depressed. The morning cigarette didn’t help either. I got on the train and walked to work. When I got there, it seemed like nobody knew or nobody cared. They were busy planning the 60th birthday party of a woman whose birthday was the day after mine. Nobody even so much as wished me a happy birthday. I got a card in my mailbox from my principal. When I thanked her, she gave me a blank look. It seemed like she made them all up once a year and gave them to the secretary to give to people on their appointed day. When I got home, I decided to do something special for myself, so I took myself out to dinner. It was honestly very depressing, having to take myself out for dinner on my birthday and having nobody else to hang out with. Near the end of the dinner, I found myself fighting back tears.

When I got home, I got a call from both my dad and my middle sister wishing me a happy birthday. I was able to chat with my sister for a while. It was good to catch up with her and helped to calm me down a bit. Even so, I probably smoked too many cigarettes today.

Leave a Reply

