Monday September 5, 2016

 

I couldn’t believe how much I slept last night! I must have really needed to catch up on sleep since I got 14 hours of it! Today was my last day of my summer break before the work year starts for me. The two months off seemed very short! Maybe it’s because as I get older time seems to move more quickly. Maybe it’s because I did so much traveling. Maybe time just flies when I’m having fun. I had a lot that I wanted to accomplish today because starting tomorrow, I’m going to have significantly less time to do things. However, when I woke up, my sore throat was worse. I was very tired with no energy. I watched Netflix, drifting in and out of sleep all morning. However, there was no stuffy/runny nose with post-nasal drip that usually accompanies a cold. Shit, I hoped I didn’t have strep throat. Well, if I’m going to get it checked out, today is the last day I could easily do so. I also really wasn’t looking forward to starting the school year sick. Yes, I can power through being sick, but I really hate having to do it.

I finally dragged myself out of bed and to the doctor’s. After spending a long time waiting in the waiting room and then waiting sitting on the uncomfortable table, it turns out that I don’t have strep throat. And there really is no medicine that will make things go away other than time. They recommended a numbing throat spray, but I really don’t like those, so I decided to deal with it instead.

At the doctor’s office, someone was making chicken soup because I could smell it. I started craving soup. Maybe it was good for me. I went to a local place that makes soup to go and they were closed. I had to settle for my favorite fast food place instead. I got salty fries and orange juice. The fries would feel good on my throat and the vitamin C would help me get better, or so I told myself. Since I work early tomorrow, I tried to go to bed early and failed. I finally managed to get to sleep around 10:30, only to be woken at 11:30 by Kyle. I can’t even remember why, but he apologized and I went back to sleep.

Leave a Reply

