Saturday July 23, 2016

I got up early today to meet some people for a hike. It was a new meetup group. I had been trying to get to know more hiking people and make more friends. Only two people showed up and they had driven two hours to be there. It was an older man and a woman. He had white hair, but was tall and still seemed strong and in good shape, so I imaged he was in his 60s.  She was petite with sun-browned skin. She was extremely talkative without adding much in the way of substance to her words. She shared her knowledge of the woods, but her facts were often incorrect. And the man, who apparently was not married to or dating her, was often rude to her in her ignorance. I wasn’t sure which one of them annoyed me more. And as if that weren’t bad enough, my back started to bother me about an hour and a half in. I tried to ignore it. Then I took some over-the-counter pills for the pain. By the end of the hike, I was limping because the pain radiated down one of my legs. I was close to tears, partially from the pain, partially from my body’s inability to do what I wanted it to do. Near the end, the man and the woman got annoyed with my slow progress and went on ahead. I stopped to message Kyle who kindly tried to cheer me up. At that moment, I caught up with them and the man berated me for my cell phone usage.

When I returned to the car, I was relieved. My back still hurt, but at least I didn’t have to walk anymore. And I didn’t have to put up with those people anymore. I messaged Kyle again and got some bad news. His mom wouldn’t let me stay over at their house again. I didn’t understand it. I thought both his mom and step-dad liked me. The reason given is that she wasn’t feeling well and needed to rest. It’s not like I really asked anything of them while I was there, but I can understand how stressful it can be to have someone visiting your house, I suppose. I was still disappointed. That meant that if I wanted to see Kyle before I left for the camping/hiking trip, that I would either need to get a hotel room or to camp somewhere with him. However, with such short notice and so many things left to do, would I have time to pack everything that was needed for a camping trip? Finally I sucked it up and decided to just pay for the hotel room. I had the money, I was just trying to save it. Besides, it would be fun to have Kyle to myself for a whole few days!

This made Kyle really angry and he spent a while trying to find a place to live. Aaron, the friend who I believe I mentioned at last year’s camping/hiking event, had a spare room in his apartment that he could rent out. I was a little disappointed that he would be moving in with someone who wasn’t me, but I hadn’t offered either. I couldn’t. It was written in my lease that I live in the one bedroom apartment alone. My apartment was the perfect size for me and my stuff, but I just didn’t have the extra room for all of Kyle’s stuff too. Wait, why was I thinking of this? We’re still not even exclusive.

Kyle went to work. I was so exhausted with the heat of the day and the exertion that I took a nap. When I woke up, I got some more things done. I still couldn’t get my printer to work. I was starting to get annoyed with it. I paid good money for that printer and I couldn’t even get the stupid thing to connect with my laptop. I tried their website, but there was no real support. I did some other things that needed doing.

When Kyle got done with work, he messaged me. He had a particularly bad day. I asked him if there was anything I could do. He said I could talk to him. So we both cued up Skype and started chatting. At first, he was really not looking well enough to converse, so I prattled away about various trivialities. Finally, he started interacting with me. Eventually, we just kept talking about various things. We decided to become exclusive! We discussed many things. Finally, he came up with a good idea about the long-distance thing. We wouldn’t make any plans now, but by the time we had been dating for six months, we’d put a plan in place to close the long-distance gap. I was very pleased with how things went! Then as things got later, it’s like our inhibitions waned. He started talking about what kind of a wedding he wanted if we ever got married. I know, we’ve been exclusive for all of a day and he was already talking about a potential wedding. The weird thing is, it didn’t seem weird at all. It seemed like it was an eventuality. Three hours later, right before we said goodnight, we discussed that weirdness about how the conversation didn’t seem weird. We joked about how we’d talk about having kids in the next conversation. We said good night and I went to sleep.


Relationships – yes

Meditation – yes

Mood – Varied greatly

Leave a Reply

