January 24, 2016

I awoke relatively early and meditated. Chandra had wanted me to attend a class at the retreat center, but it started early and I was afraid that I was not going to have my driveway shoveled in time, so I declined. I had made plans with Christine anyway.

During our texts last night, I had told Diego of my plans. Christine was coming around 3. Diego told me I could expect him around 12 or 1. I got a few remaining things done and waited. Noon passed. So did 1:00. Then my phone rang. It was Diego asking if he was still coming over today. I felt a little annoyed, but recognized that not everyone is like me about making plans. I make plans once then I keep them. They are set in stone for me unless I contact them to cancel for whatever reason. Not everyone is like that and I get it.

We talked a little about how we spent the snowstorm and pretty quickly ended up in my bedroom. To be fair, we didn’t have much time. Although I was kind of grateful that we didn’t have much time because I didn’t feel like doing it twice. He left before Christine arrived.

Christine and I had started kind of a book club. Because it was our first meeting, we were the only ones there. We did have other friends show interest and promised to come next month. Once we were done talking about the book, she told me her and her boyfriend were having problems. They argued too much, apparently. I tried to be a good listener, but there wasn’t much else I could do for her. I had no advice , but I did feel bad. I told her a bit about Diego and his back story. Maybe it’s not as interesting if you’re not dating the guy, or maybe she was too focused on her face own problems, but she didn’t seem interested and kept edging towards the door.

I spent the rest of the day knitting and napping. I was glad I had gotten so much done, but I still wasn’t looking forward to going back to work tomorrow. I also tried to stay up late to finish my knitting. I was hoping to get it out in the mail tomorrow. Around midnight, I gave up and went to bed. I should be able to finish it tomorrow though!

Leave a Reply

