October 23, 2015

This morning, Diego sat near me on the morning train, probably hoping to talk.  However, I listened to my meditation as usual.  At the connecting station he asked if I had a lot of work to do.  I affirmed it.  He asked where I was the previous afternoon.  I told him that I work late on Thursdays.  He stayed and chatted until the connecting train came.  Juan sat with me and seemed to try to make up for the things he had said the previous day.  The damage was done, it had sunk him in my esteem.  It was probably for the best.  I looked forward to our time together too much.  Now I could be a disinterested friend and continue trying to improve my Spanish fluency.

I had a good day at work.  Juan sat in the seat directly next to me on the first train.  It didn’t last long and it seemed we were at the connecting station before I knew it.  We saw Diego and I was again ignored by Juan as he and Diego talked.  The train was very full.  Diego sat in an empty set of two seats, clearly wanting me to sit with him.  There were no other empty sets of seats, so Juan sat nearby.  After one stop, I changed cars to avoid the awkward ideas in my mind.  I missed sitting and talking with Juan, but still told myself that Diego’s appearance was a good thing.  I did not like Diego, but it kept Juan from getting too friendly with me.

Leave a Reply

