October 13, 2015

I awoke late and didn’t get a chance to do anything other than shower, dress, and pack my lunch. I knew my cats would pee outside the litter box, but I just didn’t have the time to scoop it. I made it to the train as it arrived and just made it on time.

My day was good, but I didn’t see many of my classes because it was picture day. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get any extra work done because I had to go and help out with organizing the kids for getting their pictures taken. They had something special that was going on that was using my room after school, so I had to leave early.

I got to the earlier train and was surprised to find Juan on it as well. I guess he had to leave early because he’s re-doing his kitchen and the cabinets were being delivered. He had to be home early to meet the delivery guy. At the second, longer train, there were few seats open. He chose a set of two seats and we sat side by side again. After my weekend, I was able to resist the feelings that I had last week when we sat like that. We conversed a while and he told me he wouldn’t want to hike because he’s afraid of snakes. He asked me if I were afraid of them. I said no because I wore boots hiking. I told him of my one fear. He had the grace not to laugh. Then he got to the point. He asked if I would take a vacation with him. I immediately blushed at the implication in my mind. He must have his wording wrong. I avoided the question behind the question and told him that I couldn’t take a day off that the school didn’t give me off. I realized after the fact that maybe he just wanted to spend a day hanging out with me as friends. Then he started talking about his green card. I was surprised he wasn’t a citizen yet. He had been working here for over 20 years. He said he was too busy to apply for citizenship. I guess his wife had received her green card in the mail, but he hadn’t received his. They told him to wait 6 months. He said something about having an American wife (meaning me). I couldn’t tell if he was joking, so I again avoided the question behind the question and said I couldn’t because I was still technically married. Then he said something that could not be mistaken, so I said a line I had practiced on my own for this occasion, “Me gusteria pero tiene una esposa.” (I would like to but you have a wife) I don’t know how correct the grammar is, but it seemed to get the point across. I hope it doesn’t affect our friendship. I look forward to our conversations as the best part of my day. I didn’t want that to end.

When I got home, I got a phone call from Jake (the married guy I had slept with in August). He seemed anxious to see me again. We set up an evening to meet and he wanted to spend a whole day together. Some red flags were raised at that. I just hope he wasn’t getting too attached to me.

Leave a Reply

