November 4, 2015

When I was waiting for the train in the morning, I was surprised when Diego started a conversation with me. I was even more surprised when he asked me out on a date! Not only was I asked out on a date, but I was asked in Spanish and I understood it! When he asked when I could go, I didn’t know. I had to work late on Thursday, I had a conference call on Friday, and I was taking a class that lasted all Saturday and Sunday. But I told him maybe next week. I don’t actually like him like that, but I said yes anyway. I was happy for a date, but at the same time, I didn’t necessarily want it to be with him. I suspected he was just taking me out to separate me from Juan. When we got to the connecting station, I told Juan. He said, “Why not? Diego doesn’t have a wife.” I was surprised that he didn’t react with jealousy, but was grateful that I didn’t have to deal with it!

Work was good, but exhausting. I continued to eat sugar. I was tired and moody today. I did my best not to take it out on the students and, thankfully, succeeded.

On the train on the way home, Juan again invited me to sit directly next to him. We talked and had fun as usual. At one point, he pointed out that I had only about 5 good child-bearing years left. I had been trying not to remind myself of this, but when he did, it made me instantly sad. He tried to cheer me up, but my laughs were only superficial.

I was tired when I got home, so I climbed into bed at 7:00 with the hopes of catching up on sleep. At about 7:15, there was a knock on my door. I threw on a bathrobe and saw one of my new upstairs neighbors who asked if I had hot water. I didn’t. He came in and took a look at the hot water heater. He couldn’t figure out what was wrong other than the fact that the temperature gauge said it was cold. He thought that it was out of oil. I called the landlord and that seemed to be the case. I was thankful that I had showered this morning! Then I drifted off to sleep.

Leave a Reply

